Milestones of 1st Kandy by Ananda Melpitiya

The greatest Buddhist College of the Kandyan Hill capital, Dharmaraja College established in 1887 and celebrates her 125th anniversary and celebrating 100 years of scouting in 2013. The 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group have been the proud winner of the Best Scout Merit Flag of the Country since 1993 consecutively and to maintain its trend to this year and the Scout Group and Old Rajans Scout Association jointly organized a world scouts gathering under the name of ‘RISGO’, (Rajans International Scout Gathering Of Centennial – 2013) with the theme of “Towards Global Leadership”. The RISGO International Jamboree scheduled to be held from 18th to 22nd of February 2013 at the Lakeview Park International Scout Centre, Kandy, Sri Lanka with the participation of Chief Scout and His Excellency the President of Sri Lanka Mahinda Rajapaksa as the Chief Guest. Over 5,000 scouts will participate from all scout districts in the island and foreign scouts over 50 countries representing all six regions in the world.

1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Troop was started by late Mr. John Henry de Saram, past pupil of Dharmaraja and member of tutorial staff under the principalship of late Mr. K.F. Billimoria in 1913 and won the first King’s Medal by a college scout. Later the Troop won the King’s Flag in 1917, 1918 and 1919 consecutively for three years

Lord Baden Powell, the founder of the World Scout Movement along with his wife Lady Olave visited twice to the Dharmaraja in 1921 and 1934. In 1922, 1st Kandy Troop enjoyed the unique distinction of providing a Guard-of-Honour to H.R.H. Prince of Wales on the occasion of his visit to Kandy and it was the only Guard-of-Honour which His Royal Highness consented to receive during his tour. In 1917, Rajans scouts won the Brigadier Hacket Thomson Trophy.  Since the Imperial 1st World Jamboree held in 1920 at the Crystal Palace, England, the Rajans have represented Sri Lanka for the highest number of jamborees including World Jamborees. .  Rajans have produced 18 Queen’s Scouts for the very first time in 1954 and won Sir Andrew Caldecott award for that achievement.

In 1962, 1st Kandy scouts have won All Ceylon Scouts Flag.They organized the 50th anniversary Jamboree in 1963. The Silver Jubilee was held in 1973 with the participation of Governor-General of Ceylon, Sir William Gopallawa, an old Rajan scout as the Chief Guest.  

While Dharmaraja College celebrating her centenary in 1987, the proud scouts organized an internationally appreciated event called “Rajans Centenary JIM”. In 1994, they organized ‘DESAI jamborette’ to celebrate the 80th anniversary and in 1998 ‘Rajans Venture’, an adventure activities program to celebrate 85 years of scouting. Many scouts, guides and cubs gathered to celebrate their anniversaries from all nooks and corners of the island. In 2003 they organized ‘Rajans JIM‘ international scout gathering to celebrate 90 years and held ‘RANSAI’ – Rajans Ninety fifth Scout Anniversary International – 2008 to celebrate 95 years.

1st Kandy scouts brought honor to the motherland in several occasions, climbing the Himalaya Mountain 7 times from 1985 to 2008. The first President’s Medal was won by a Rajans scout.  In 2009 Chathura Deshapriya Mataraarachchi of the 1st Kandy Dharmaraja Scout Group has won the most prestigious Asia Pacific Region Award for the “Most Outstanding Scout” for the first time.

"If there is scouting somewhere around....

Rajans are there......

If there are some Rajans somewhere around .....

The word scouting is always there...."

That is a bond which will never be destroyed and it is a bond which is